KJF

Finding your way around the media world

The Deutsche Kinder- und Jugendfilmzentrum (KJF, German Centre for Youth and Children's Films) is a national centre for cultural media education. It offers information and expertise, orientation and inspiration for the use of audio-visual media, and establishes the required framework conditions to enable a responsible and creative approach to media. Offering a large variety of activities, it targets children and teenagers, families and older people, educationalists and facilitators in the fields of social work, education or culture.

The world children and teenagers live in

The world children and teenagers live in today is dominated by media. The globe-spanning Web2.0 culture is part of their childhoods and youth culture. Digital media determine the way we interact and communicate, are a means of expressing culture, facilitate educational processes and play a major role in how leisure time is spent. They influence children's and teenagers' patterns of thought and perceptual patterns, and, consequently, their experiences and actions.

Setting the stage for the future

The Deutsche Kinder- und Jugendfilmzentrum (KJF, German Centre for Youth and Children's Films) promotes the chances and opportunities audiovisual media afford us. It provides guidance with independent and scientifically founded information, and gives food for thought on a critical and creative approach to media, thus contributing to the future development of the media landscape.

On behalf of the Federal Ministry of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth, the Centre arranges national creativity contests, publishes film reviews and film editions, and develops concepts and programme offers to promote media literacy. We constantly review and extend these offers according to educational needs, their relevance to social policy, technical perspectives and scientific findings.

The Deutsche Kinder- und Jugendfilmzentrum (KJF, German Centre for Youth and Children's Films) was founded in 1977. It is sponsored by the Federal Ministry of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth with funds from the Federal Children and Youth Plan. Legally, KJF is part of the Remscheid Academy of Art and Media Education. A board of trustees consisting of representatives of the Federal and State governments, universities and associations defines the guidelines for the Centre's work.

Go back

KJF

Orientierung in der Welt der Medien

Das Deutsche Kinder- und Jugendfilmzentrum(KJF) ist ein bundesweit tätiges Zentrum für kulturelle Medienbildung. Es bietet Information, Expertise, Orientierung und Inspiration bei der Nutzung von audio-visuellen Medien und schafft Rahmenbedingungen für einen verantwortungsvollen und kreativen Umgang mit Medien. Seine vielfältigen Aktivitäten richten sich an Kinder und Jugendliche, Familien und ältere Menschen, an Pädagogen und Multiplikatoren der Sozial-, Bildungs- und Kulturarbeit.

Lebenswelten von Kindern und Jugendlichen

Die Lebenswelten von Kindern und Jugendlichen sind zu großen Teilen Medienwelten. Die globale Netzkultur des Web 2.0 ist Alltag in Kindheiten und Jugendkulturen. Digitale Medien bestimmen Interaktion und Kommunikation, sie unterstützen kulturellen Ausdruck, ermöglichen Bildungsprozesse und prägen die Freizeitgestaltung. Und sie beeinflussen die Denk- und Wahrnehmungsmuster und damit das Erfahrungs- und Handlungsrepertoire von Kindern und Jugendlichen.

Impulse für die Zukunft

Das Deutsche Kinder- und Jugendfilmzentrum fördert die Chancen und Potenziale audio-visueller Medien. Es schafft Orientierung mit unabhängigen und wissenschaftlich fundierten Informationen. Das KJF gibt Impulse für einen kritischen und kreativen Umgang mit Medien und trägt so zur Gestaltung der Medienzukunft bei.

Im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend führt das KJF bundesweite Kreativ-Wettbewerbe durch, veröffentlicht Filmempfehlungen und Filmeditionen und entwickelt Konzepte und Angebote zur Vermittlung von Medienkompetenz. Diese Angebote überprüfen und erweitern wir kontinuierlich hinsichtlich ihres pädagogischen Bedarfs, ihrer gesellschaftspolitischen Relevanz sowie technischer Perspektiven und wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse.

Das Deutsche Kinder- und Jugendfilmzentrum (KJF) wurde 1977 gegründet. Gefördert wird es vom Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend aus Mitteln des Kinder- und Jugendplans des Bundes. Die Rechtsträgerschaft des KJF hat die Akademie der Kulturelle Bildung des Bundes und des Landes NRW. Die Richtlinien der Arbeit des KJF bestimmt ein Kuratorium aus Vertretern von Bund und Ländern, Hochschulen und Verbänden.

Zurück